Race number 32

Leave a comment

October 24, 2016 by Soo Ee

I am a Tough Mudder. 

1. Everyone went down on their knees before the flag off and did the Mudder Pledge. The moment was sacred and solemn, like we were knighted before the beginning of a really long and arduous journey.

“Have faith in your journey because everything had to happen exactly as it did to get you to where you are at, at that very moment.” 

2. I will say it “I peed in my pants,” not once but twice.

“Sometimes you just got to do what you’ve got to do.” 

3. There were obstacles which required me to be in mud water up to my neck. The water was very cold and the fears were very real.

“Everything you ever wanted is on the other side of fear, on the other side of whatever obstacle is out there.” 

4. It is summer time now in Aussie but it becomes too cold when you’re wet from head to toe with mud. My hands became so numb I couldn’t even press the water container for water.

“You won’t know pain until you tell yourself to hold on and be strong.” 

5. I tasted mud from the ground when I slipped and fell. It sure didn’t taste anything like mud I have accidentally tasted before. It crossed my mind it could be a horse-poo-mud mix.

“No one starts off being excellent.” 


6. The return flight time change and 9.15 am flag-off time didn’t allow me to drive back to the hostel after the race to wash up, before flying back home. I showered (or rather, wash off the grim) at the venue instead. IT WAS SO COLD I didn’t bother to soap.

I still had mud on me on the flight home.

“Paradise is not a place. It is a state of consciousness.” 

7. We have to get ‘electrocuted’ by live wires upon completion of the obstacle race. I jumped when the lines touched me and expletives were muttered .

“Beautiful things are going to happen soon. Dump the negativity.” 


8. There was mud inside my socks and inside the soles of my shoes. Who the hell said mud doesn’t get into your shoes and socks if you keep moving?

“And into the forest I go, to lose my mind and find my soul.” 


9. I stripped down in a tent filled with other women without a towel big enough to cover my vital spots. I will worry about my parts being exposed later. 

“There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.”

10. I had two empty seats all to myself on the flight back.

“It’s the little things in life that makes one happy.” 

11. I had Macdonald’s bacon burger and coffee before the race.

“You never know if you never try.” 

12. I thought of Bear Grylls when I saw the amount of mud there was.

“Everytime you surprise yourself, you inspire yourself.” 


The carrots at the end of the rainbow

Dirty

Leave a Reply

