The miracle is that I didn’t lose my way much 

Leave a comment

October 23, 2016 by Soo Ee

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.’ – Eleanor Roosevelt

 

My purpose is to complete forty races this year to mark forty years of living and I am onto my 32nd race, Tough Mudder (full), Gosford, Sydney.

When I registered for mudderhood, I thought I would stay near the race venue for easy access to the race site and back to the hotel after the race. That was before British Airways changed their return flight to an hour earlier. My flag-off time was at 9.15am. Calculating I would take about 3 hours or more to complete the 18-19km course, and the drive back to Sydney was about an hour 30 minutes, I realised there was a chance I might miss my flight back.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read the information on the website before signing up. Chances favor the prepared mind.

 

My first thought was to cancel my trip. I should be thinking Australian roads couldn’t that difficult to navigate, when my sister, who seldom drives in Singapore, has driven a car there before. The cost of renting a car for a day was not cheap but it was cheaper than if I were to grab a cab for both ways or miss my flight. There were too many questions. What if I got lost? What if the car got stolen? Will I be too reckless? 

 

 

 

 

 

You have been assigned this mountain to show others it can be moved.

 

I decided to stop asking and thinking and just get on with doing it. I wanted to do the ToughMudder. I wanted to be electrocuted by live wires in the last obstacle. I wanted the closeted machoistic sadist in me to be released.

 

 

 

 

 

This could be the method to my insanity.

 

Morning of 22 October Saturday

Arrived at Sydney international airport. Car rental place East Coast car rental, was opened when I called them. I wanted to find out if I could get the car earlier. I was told no, it wasn’t ready. They sent a transport to pick me up.

I slept on the sofa while waiting for my car to be ready for me.

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t wait. The time will never be right. There is no ‘good time’ to catch a nap.

 

I took the Suzuki swift because it was a familiar car to drive. I had wanted a big ass 4WD but it costs too much for so much space I wasn’t going to use. Since I wasn’t going to camp out at Glenworth Valley (the race site) I didn’t need a 4wd or caravan to sleep in. The GPS was helpful. I got to the place without getting lost though I had to take a detour because I missed the turn for the hotel. There was no 63 Central Coast Highway registered but there was a 61 Central Coast Highway.

Start of the adventure! *deep breathe* LET’S!

I like Ibis budget Gosford. It was in a good location and has a 24 hour macdonald’s just beside it.

The clean white bedroom which looked out to the street, unblocked.

See the yellow lined building? IT’S THE MACD!

I mistook this for a cafe. It’s mcCafe 😱

After dropping my bag, I googled and found Patty and Buns Milk Bar, a local go to eating place.

 

 

 

 

 

When in Gosford, eat what the locals eat. To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.

 

I ordered the Southern Fried Chicken burger – Chicken breast fillet, Chef’s secret southern Spiced coating, hand cut slaw and house siriracha chilli mayo, and a machiatto. Both were so good. The chicken tender and the crust crispy. The buns warm and soft. The coffee nice and not too acidic. I had the Mediterranean Vegetable burger to go. Roasted capsicum, zucchini, eggplant, mushroom, cheese, pickles, lettuce, tomato, red onions and house mayo. So good.

The Southern Fried Chicken up close and ‘burger’ ..



Jimmy G’s coffee
over at Imperial Emporium was recommended so I went over for my next coffee pit stop. I forgot most shops close at 4.00 pm in Australia. I decided to grocery shop instead, since I wouldn’t be able to sit and read and enjoy my cup of Joe. I busted 108 aud on all sorts of food items.

 

 

 

 

 

Happy mind, happy life. When your mind is happy you see happy in many things.

 

Race day 23 October Sunday

I ate macdonald’s for breakfast. I wanted to try the Smoky BBQ roll. No regrets though the roll and the machiatto awokened me in a nasty way.

 

 

 

 

 

Life is short. See the good in everything.

 

To be continued … 

Leave a Reply

