Race number 31 

Leave a comment

October 19, 2016 by Soo Ee

Hail the Spartan Beast 

Race: Spartan Beast 

Venue: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The Spartan beast is really one fierce S.O.A.B. The hills and slopes come in crazy numbers. The endless pools of mud were real and deep. The waterproof bag I was carrying my hand phone and passport in kept them dry. The isotonic drinks provided along the way kept the cramps away. The burpees motivated me not to give up at any obstacle unless my arms drop off. I discovered a secret technique to lift the concrete ball without breaking my back. There is no secret technique to climb the horizontal rope – your desire to make it to the bell no matter what, will keep you strong. The Spartan Ultra is twice the strength of the beast. No compression wear was destroyed in the process. 

Nothing on earth can completely describe the satisfaction that came with the discovery of how much pain one can endure.  

‘Sometimes you find yourself in the middle of nowhere, and sometimes, in the middle of nowhere, you find yourself.’ 

The picture gallery: 

I was surprised to see someone sitting on a stool in the middle of what seemed like nowhere so I smiled one for the camera. 

“Like seriously, how many times is my ponytail going to keep getting caught in the damn @&:&&^]>]>|%{%{>€~€¥~+*[£~?<% freaking long barbwire obstacle?” 

“Okay la, here’s another smile and a peace out sign for you, Mr Photographer.” 

I have no recollection of me posing for this shot. I actually wanted to walk over the fire, like I was emerging from the flames, reborn and stronger but the heat was too much. I decided it wasn’t a good idea to end up in the emergency ward with burnt shoe rubber glued to my feet. 

If only I had strength left to lift a tire for this very well earned photographic moment. Every part of me was already hurling curses and swear words at me for putting them through hell. 

I will do better the next time I take on the Beast again. I promise. 

Photo credits: Spartan Race Malaysia 

Leave a Reply

