What makes a tribe good

Leave a comment

October 16, 2016 by pecanbutter

I am not a perfect person. I made mistakes. I have flaws. But still, there are people who would always love the imperfect me, the confused me, the not so right me.

My good friends.

My tribe.

I believe that having mutual respect towards each other is important. That doesn’t mean we always agree with each another in everything we say or do. It does mean we have admiration for one another and a steady undercurrent of trust throughout the relationship.

We know we will have each other’s back when the tough gets going.

With them, I feel like I can be my own complete self in our friendship. I always have a chance to be myself and express how truly I feel.

Everything is cool.

Everyone experiences ups and downs in life. When you’re up, you lift me when I am down. When I am up, I will lend you a hand when you’re down. We take turns to lift one another up. We energize the friendship and help keep everyone afloat.

We know we become stronger when we are together.

There is no energy sapping drama going on within the group. Everything is plain and simple and straight forward. We leave the energy sapping dramas at the door.

Life is too short to waste on unnecessary energy and emotions.

Difference in perspectives help us to grow. We grow when we are able to see different perspectives. We seek to create a friendship that is stronger than differences in perspectives or opinions, by valuing one another’s perspectives and opinions. We know we can have meaningful discussion (and even debate) around important issues without forfeiting the friendship over different opinions.

End of the day, we value one another’s perspective because we value one other.

There must always be open communication. The truth is sometimes hard to hear but we take note to speak it with love.

A painful truth is always better than a hidden lie. Lies are more toxic to a relationship than dishonesty. You can’t constantly lie and expect trust.

In all, we only make each other better. My friends make me a better person by their positive influences and encouragements. They bring out the best in me.

That is the way it should be.

‘Good friends are people who celebrate with us when we’re at our best but still love us at our worst.’

Source: 9gag

Leave a Reply

