Race number 28

Leave a comment

August 31, 2016 by Soo Ee

Race: Puma Night Run.

Date: 27 August 2016.

Distance: 12 km

Comment: First run at Seletar Aerospace Park.

The running paths were narrow. It wouldn’t be satisfying for runners who were aiming for a PB or wanted to ‘chiong the mountain like a cheetah’ I was nursing two very tight glutes so it was good there were people in front of me half of the distance. I could geng a little and not be competitiveness.

The crowd started thinning out at about 3 km and that gave me more space to speed things up a little. Water points were sufficient. Volunteers handing out the cups of water were nice and cheered us on. When I saw JT in front of me at 6km , I cut through the crowd with ease to ‘catch’ her because the crowd was pretty thinned out by then.

It was refreshing to run at a new venue. Singapore is a small place so most runs were usually at the Gardens by the bay and east coast park area.

It was my first time running at the Seletar Aerospace Park area. The last few times were to eat the murderous buffalo wings of various murderous hot levels. I like this run venue. It was nice watching the sun set as we ran and the planes landing and taking off as we passed by. Though they were a distance away and looked like toy aero planes, it was still nice. The planes and sunset distracted me from my nagging butt (s).

The good clear sky with no haze and thick humidity made it even more comfortable to run. The organizers, Spacebib didn’t let out anything with regard to cancellation, even though the Facebook page was filled with worries that the race might be cancelled. There was no reassurances with regard to what they intended to do if the haze continued to be in the unhealthy range. was thankful the sky started clearing close to 6.00 pm. As I was checking the Facebook page to see if there was any updates, I read some of the comments other people posted. Some were pretty harsh, others were expressing concern and disappointment over the could be cancelled event . There was a guy who mentioned that if the organizers were to cancel the race, this would be the first and last time he will be running in this race. I thought that was a bit unfair to the organizers because it wasn’t like they could control what went on. Anyway, the general feel was to hope the race would go on. So when they finally announced all was good to go, everyone was happy.

When we arrived at the venue, following the distance signboards to the start, I actually wanted to park just in front of the army camp because it was just outside of the start point. The car park had a ‘visitor carpark’ sign so I thought that was okay. Apparently not. Just as I parked, I noticed a guy in army outfit making his way over and I guessed he wanted to tell us we were not allowed to park there and to scram. There was just one other vehicle there in the really empty and big car park. I didn’t want to heck it and appear in the next day’s headlines so I moved my vehicle to another spot not far away. We sat and waited to see if the gentlemen came over. He didn’t. Phew.

No finisher tee was given because it was a 12km max run. I didn’t really fancy the tee they gave us (bright green) so that was okay. I was actually hoping that the tee might be dark colored because it was a night run but then again, precisely because it was a night run, we had to wear something brightly colored to be seen in the dark of dusk.

The medal is nicely shaped like a tear drop. Easy to hold in my palm to take pictures with. Not too big and chunky and fitted nicely in my small waist pouch.

There were a couple of celebrities present. No mingling or tent crashing seen.

I would want to do this race again in 2017. Nice venue and the ‘running into the sunset’ thing makes up for the narrow running paths.

As of now, 12 more races to go before my goal of forty races in 2016 is accomplished.

Leave a Reply

