Race number 23 

Leave a comment

July 25, 2016 by Soo Ee

Race: Mizuno Ekiden

Distance: 42 km relay

Team mates: Liza Sem, Kwok, Jo Tang, me

First runner anxiety. The sun surely wasn’t  merciful, beating down its rays on me like a prison guard. Unlike the asics relay we did in 2015, the first runner flag off was at 4pm. In the Mizuno Ekiden, the runners had to exchange a sash around the body. It was a very nice sash. Very ‘Japan’ I think. I strapped the sash around my chest and didn’t realise it was restricting my breathing until it came off on the helix bridge and I realised “oh my gawd i can breath!” 😂

Team VO2Max400. VO2 max is the maximum amount of oxygen your body can utilize during exercise. It’s a combination of how much oxygen-rich blood your heart can pump, and the muscles efficiency in extracting and utilizing the oxygen. The amount of oxygen was critical to running fast and we wanted a name that said we are fast! 😄

Picture from the camera at the side. Don’t we all look like stars?


This marks my race number 23, Mizuno Ekiden (42 km, team of 4).

By the way, this isn’t my ‘SERIOUS and FOCUSED’ face. It’s my ‘oh my gawd I’m chao ta-ed to the max under the 4 pm sun and is that steam I feel escaping from the top of my head?!!?’ face. I hope the backdrop makes up for the black face (figuratively and literally).

Photo credit 📸 : Liza Sem

As of now, 17 more races to go. My number 40th race is so close.

Leave a Reply

