Seattle on a Sunday: Shore Run and Columbia City 

Leave a comment

June 14, 2016 by Soo Ee

The Shore run started at 9 am so there was time for breakfast before heading out. Morning breakfast was yesterday’s food truck Cheese wizard’s leftover French toast and two slices of the hostel’s bread. I got to cut down on the cheese and milk. They make me bloat like a puffer fish. 

Today’s Shore Run was sloppy and difficult. I found it difficult to breathe through my nose because of the cold. It was windy and cold. I can’t remember if I felt the same way in NYC. I think Audrey did say to cover up my nose when I’m running. I will try that the next time I run to crossfit, at least before the Seattle Rock and Roll on Sunday. 

It’s been years since I got on a school bus.  This was our transport to the start line. 


Oops. That’s me yawning through the entire bus ride. 


Picturesque. 

 


The start line 


More beautiful landscapes along the way of the run. 


The running route. 

Time for some finishing line pictures. 

The shower gel wasntmy prize nor was it form the goodie bag. It was given to me by a participating booth. 

The kids run. 

After the Shore Run, I went out to Columbia city to check out the this brunch place called Geraldine’s counter. 


It was recommended online for great brunch. Their biscuit bread, so buttery and fragrant, I had to resist finishing the entire biscuit in one mouthful. The scrambled eggs might have been better with the potato hash which I asked them to remove because I don’t like potatoes. It still tasted good without potato. Ingredients include red bell pepper, pork sausage, eggs, cheese. I love eggs. I ordered the French toast too because it was recommended. Apparently you could order just one of it. Yeah. I saw on the menu you could order it as a dish for 10 usd. That’ll be too much, both portion size and monetary value. The fruit slices (or were they tomatoes) on the toast was not sweetened so it tasted fresh and non artificial. The bread was as it is. The French toast was cooked to crispy perfection – crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Adding the maple honey just sealed the yummy calorie deal. 


My personal opinion is that Columbia city is nice and quiet, and good for if you’re looking for a place just outside of the central area. Though most shops were closed or were going to, by the time I arrived (which was about 2pm), it being Sunday, quite a handful were still some opened. I walked around after Geraldine’s but didn’t see much so I headed back. 

I went into PCC in the way back to the station. It’s basically a huge super market that sells organic food stuff and groceries. I found Probiotics (iherb sells cheaper). whey protein. There were so MANY VARIATIONS! I bought a few which I haven’t tried before to try. lemons for the morning lemon cleansing ritual. It has been about a week since I last had lemon water in the morning. I feel a little dirty inside. I got a really nice red shopping bag too, to add to my shopping bag collection. 

Decided to head back to the hostel to rest and wash clothes. The caffeine I took this morning was losing its effects, which was good because I might be able to put in a good night’s sleep. 

Leave a Reply

