I want to be a better communicator

Leave a comment

June 13, 2016 by pecanbutter

1. I shall treat each person as an individual with his or her own needs, desires and autonomy. We are all different, we are all with my strengths and weaknesses.

2. I shall take time to process and reflect and know that there is no need to respond right away. My mind is a vast space. My emotions are bigger. Letting my emotions get the better of me will cause me to say things in the heat of the moment, things I may later regret.

3.I shall edit my words and communicate in a way to help others better understand my perspective. Everyone of us understand things differently too, the different perspectives.

4. I shall speak only for myself and don’t claim that my views are universal. Take what I say with a pinch of salt but don’t dismiss me completely. You are entitled to your thoughts but hear me out first.

5. I shall draw upon resources that most people would agree are credible when making factual claims, to build trust.

6. I shall be more open minded and be willing to listen and try to understand.

7. I shall use conversations as an opportunity to find shared values and interests that will open lines of communication.

8. I shall stop, breathe and find peace in myself before I I respond to anything. No emotions.

9. I shall show respect and avoid sarcasm and condescension.

10. I shall learn to listen to the other person and ask genuine questions with the goal of understanding them better.

Source: Vegnews magazine, June 2016. 

Leave a Reply

