Race number 13

Leave a comment

May 15, 2016 by Soo Ee

Race: Spartan SUPER Race Singapore

This was where I learnt the importance of having chalk on my hands and burpees in my blood.

The plan was to play to my strengths and eat the burpees for dessert.

I realised, 1 hour 38 minutes and 12km later, that I made the grave mistake of underestimating the treacherous and merciless route and saw my hope for a podium finish vanish into thin air.

Notes for next obstacle race

1. Train faster starts. The other contenders took off at a very fast pace at the sound of the gun. I thought I’d be able to catch up with them because that was what I usually could do. I was wrong. They were already too far ahead, when my system was warmed up and loaded with adrenaline, for me to catch up.

2. Use the same chalk strategy with the overhead obstacles. I must also remember to keep the bag of ‘tool’ properly. I lost the bag along the way and had to eat burpees for the next overhead obstacle.

3. Roll on the foam roller a lot the days before. A lot of calf work needed on the trail. Cramping and fatigued calves are less efficient.

4. Cut my fingernails really short. Chipped nails are painful. Mud trapped underneath the nails ain’t a nice or hygienic sight.

5. Wear calf sleeves. Rope burn are painful and totally disgusting to be swooshing around in the dirt and mud and water tank.

6. Practise burpees efficiency. Work up to complete at least 150 or more without fatigue.

Finishing at 5th place, ‘da baoing’ home a fractured collarbone, {(painfully+physically+emotionally)} disappointments and a pair of disfigured bruised knees were not at all in my great scheme of things to happen on that glorious Saturday.

But taking everything in stride, as wise men of old have said, “there is no greater motivation to train harder than to get your ass kicked and face rubbed in dirt.”

I’m coming for you with all I have, Spartan Race Beast.

Result photo credit: Chris Lee

Leave a Reply

