Race #11 NTUC income Run 350

Leave a comment

April 15, 2016 by Soo Ee

This is the first time I did Run350 though I have been running for a while now. I have always rejected my runner partner’s proposal to do this run because I didn’t like the running tee. I turn forty this year and I’m running 40 races. I am one quarter done, with 30 more races to go. After the race on Sunday, I was glad I signed up for this because of my 40 races for 2016. 

The race started at the F1 pit. The crowd was not as large as the previous week’s run (2XU). I do not usually check the route before a run nor do I check for the hydration points. I thought it might be a good idea to check the hydration points in future races, so that if there were sufficient water points, I could probably leave the cumbersome water bottle behind. Run 350 had pretty good number of hydration points. 

We ran on Nicoll highway, one of the best places to run a race. Wide, spacious and enjoyable. Bottle necks are downers. There were not much narrow spaces where I have to constantly apologise for brushing my sweaty body against someone else’s body while I run pass them. 

However, stitch happened sometime at the beginning. There are various reasons stitches happen. Fatigue, too much water just before a run, food before run etc. After the very many trials and errors, I came to the conclusion that stitches happen to my body when it is in fatigue state. This smart ass decided to do a 14 km run on Saturday because I wanted to celebrate a work free Saturday morning with a run. Given the weather and humidity, I could also be dehydrated and had my glycogen storage depleted quite a bit. It is important to know what affects you during a run so that you can remedy it. 

So, for my stitch issue. I read in a magazine that (for example) if the stitch is happening on the right side of your body, you breath out when your left foot lands on the ground. It usually takes me less than ten breathes to get things in order again.

  
 

Leave a Reply

