Race #8 Malaysia Women Marathon

Leave a comment

March 14, 2016 by Soo Ee

Alam, Selangor

I woke up at 3 am on the morning of the run. It was pretty early for a 5.30 am race but I was being a typical Singaporean – Kia su to my bones.

I got up, ate the chickpea brownies I brought over, stretched and got ready for battle.

There were surely road closures along some part of the way. I wasn’t very familiar with how Malaysia did their road closures for races.

The Uber driver arrived promptly, calling me at 3.15 am to confirm that I will be taking his cab. He wasn’t at the compound when I arrived at the lobby. I panicked. He called a while later to tell me he was just ahead at the main road. I had to be at the exact place I made the booking. So much for sophisticated apps.

Fortunately, there was only one road closure on the way to the race venue so it wasn’t too much of an issue.

I redirected my google map to assist the driver in his drive and with our combined powers, we were able to find the destination easily. Where he dropped me, I only had to walk about 200 m to the start.

I was too early for start time and was feeling a little tired, so I decided to nap on the stone benches, when I saw many others doing so too. A gentle breeze was blowing. I drifted off but woke up at about 4.50 am. The caffeine was working its magic.

I felt zen and energised all at once.

The crowd was smaller than what I had expected. I thought that was good. I did not like overwhelming.

The race started at 5.30am. The full marathon start time was 4.00 am. We ran out to about 2 km before we hit the expressway. Most part of the race took place on the expressway till we hit Jalan Bukit Menuming, where we made a u-turn back to the finish. There wasn’t much to see on the way, just signs depicting the different sections and more roads.

There were slopes. I was able to see the faster runners out in front, about 1 km away. That helped motivate me to quicken my pace.

Though this was a run for women, there were a few dudes around. Just a handful. I saw three dudes dressed up in wigs and mini skirts. There were mostly companions of the ladies taking part, their motivation and pacer.

I lost count of the slopes. The slopes killed my legs a little.

The crowd thinned out further at 8km back to the finish point. The day broke and the sun shone brightly. I saw supporters gather in increasing number as I approached the finish line. They had hand made sign boards of encouragements and were cheering for the runners. There was a point on the route where runners from all the categories merged and suddenly, it seemed like everyone was back at the finish line all at once!

There seemed to be more runners in the 5 km and 10 km category.

I would likely come back here again next year to do this race. There weren’t many women only races around and I really like the medal that they gave!

Shah alam Malaysia Women’s Run, I will be back!
  
  

Leave a Reply

