5 ways to conquer self doubt 

Leave a comment

February 9, 2016 by Soo Ee

Self doubt isn’t always about having low self esteem. This morning at Crossfit, the WOD was ‘Diane’, 21-15-9 dealifts and HSPUs. My coach told me to pack in the weights for deadlifts because (in her words) “with all the runs you’re doing , you’re going to lose your muscle mass.” At first, I was doubtful I could do more than my usual weight (ailing back) but nevertheless, I always do my coach asks me to so I packed on 22 lbs more than my usual. Long story short, I managed ‘Diane’ quite well. 

6 ways to conquer self doubt

1. Consider the worst case scenario. 

What could be the worst thing that could happen if I can’t left the added weights? I have to remove the additional weights. But that wouldn’t be life altering. I just had to spend a little more time nursing my bruised ego. 

2. Being aware of situations that trigger self doubts. 

You can’t change what you’re not aware of. To change things you have to be aware in order to actively do something about them. In fact, I was too aware of being paired with a beginner and I wanted to be a ‘model’ to her. Once I realised what I was feeling, I snapped out of it and told myself to let the pride go. 

3. Practise self-compassion. 

Being competitive makes me very critical of myself and my performance. I expect perfection with every performance.  I often get upset with me  for not achieving the performance goals I set. Being emotional with myself is bad. It affects my entire composure and leads to poor performance.  I have a mantra now, “I am good.” 

4. Stop seeking validation. 

I wanted my coach to be proud of me. I have to strengthen my faith in myself by learning how to trust what feels right for me, and becoming stronger felt right for me. My coach’s words are my encouragement, not a validation. 

5. Focus on the present. 

Deep breathe and commit to the task at end with my energy. It is now that is important, not yesterday, not tomorrow. 

Adapted from: http://holykaw.alltop.com/8-ways-to-conquer-self-doubt-infographic?gk1

Leave a Reply

