Dim sum in New York city

Leave a comment

December 11, 2015 by Soo Ee

I am Chinese people so when I’m in Chinatown, I eat dim sum.

I suppose you can call this place authentic, with the push carts and Cantonese speaking serving staff.

After an hour of crossfit this morning I went in search of Jing fong, the dim sum place recommended online.

They opened their doors at 10 am. A lady wondered aloud why were they late in opening the doors and ain’t the yum cha places suppose to open early for breakfast crowd?

Another lady answered that this hour were meant for the retiree crowd. This meant that since you’re retired you do not need to wake up early to join the rat race. You can have your dim sum after you’re done with Taiji or whatever retirees do, at the park.


There were a couple of people without company. If this is what retiring is like, give it to me! I would gladly Taiji/yoga, read a book and eat dim sum.

Since I was on my own, my strategy was to take only one of each item on a plate though I finished threes of the charsiew shu and salted egg york buns. I devised that to maximise my stomach space and not overload on calories, I came here to taste the gourmet feast, all of it.

My Cantonese is a disgrace and obviously frowned upon by the native speaker. I was struggling with my Cantonese speaking and the staff gave me a wicked look. I wanted a pot of chrysanthemum without sugar. That did not happen. I must have said something else. A lady came by my table with a pushcart. I asked her what she had there. I did not understand 80% of the words uttered. A plate of handmade balls of something seem legit to my palates.

Sesame balls, Char Siew Shus, Century egg porridge. MSG.

The ‘gauS’. Chives in crab meat. Chives and chicken cubes. Prawn (har) gau.

I kept telling myself not to compare the food here to Singapore’s. Just enjoy the damn food.

Salted york bun. Custard bun.

I asked the pushcart lady what buns were available. She shouted at least five types of bun names but I could only catch the words ‘salted york’ and ‘char siew’. I could be more adventurous and ordered all of them baos. But the calories and food wastage would be frowned upon more. I wished I had someone to share the calories with.

Why didn’t I see the ‘snails’ earlier? I wouldn’t mind some exotic food on the table.

P.S. Thanks E Miu (friend I met at crossfit 212 in the morning) for the recommendation!

The workout at Crossfit 212 which made my butt cheeks more sore https://twitter.com/soo_is_here/status/675157044031299587

Leave a Reply

