I cannot stop talking about chickpeas 

Leave a comment

November 14, 2015 by pecanbutter

Of late, chickpeas have been my favourite ingredient for making food. So versatile, they can either be a sweet or savoury dish or snack, whichever is your fancy for the day. I made no-flour brownies with them (so tasty with chocolate chips) and a mild spicy chickpea lentil soup (equally tasty and nutritiously good)

I didn’t know that they were so chock full of goodness until I started researching them on the Internet.

I found out that chickpeas are a good source of protein and fiber (insoluble and soluble) and gluten-free. Chickpeas stabilise the blood sugar and the best thing is, they are cheap and abundant!

I have made huge batches of no-flour brownies from chickpeas the past week so I decided to do something different for dinner.

Ingredients: An all star team of chickpeas, shiitake mushrooms, garlic, brown rice and onions.

Method: stir fry the onion and garlic. Add in the shitake and stir fry some more until mushrooms are ‘deflated’ looking. Remove and allow to cool. Add stir fried mixture to blender, together with chickpeas, brown rice, cumin, parsley, cayenne pepper and process till meal like. Beat an egg and add into the mixture. Remove blended mixture, shape into balls and fry.

Don’t judge these non-meat by their origin. Believe me when I say they pack a punch.

Recipe inspired by http://thebitesizedblog.com/blog/2012/05/24/guest-post-shiitake-green-garbanzo-patties/#.VBbSNy61YTl 

   

Leave a Reply

