Could I ever only live on vegetables

Leave a comment

June 13, 2015 by Soo Ee

Once again, I am reminded I make a lousy vegetarian because a non-meat diet makes me anemic.

For years, I have been trying to get on a vegetarian diet or at least for 80% of the time. Not that I dislike eating meat or love animals too much to want to eat them. It is just a personal preference but one that ensured epic failure every time I ventured into it. My personal best was for 2 weeks then the light headedness came. I did try supplementing with loads of iron tablets. Which, if you thought about it, was counter productive because iron tablets in place of real food is not an awesome idea of a fulfilling diet.

The first day I arrived, I was pleased with myself for not wanting to dive in and eat anything with legs. I love Thai food. I was confident this time, the vegetarian diet will work.

After 2 hours of cross training and 2 1/2 hours of Muay Thai training, a vegan burger and papaya salad, and a night of sleep later, my body went cold turkey on me. Prior to this trip, I had already been on a 80% vegetarian diet so it definitely wasn’t shock to the system cold turkey happened. It was the blood lust.

Blood donation centres have, on a few unfortunate occasions, rejected me as a doner because of my blood pressure and/or iron count.

So the next day after the morning training session, I went out to get some chicken bits with basil and rice for lunch. You might say it is psychological but the punches I delivered in the afternoon muay thai class felt like it had real iron demolishing powers.

So my vegetarian diet went out of the window that very afternoon and I was back to eating chicken. No red meat still, just white.

I was going to wonder about a vegetarian pad thai.

Leave a Reply

